If you follow the standard 3-stage or 4-stage workflow in the expected order, the Next Steps tab will always show you the appropriate options for sharing and submitting the comments and ratings you've made.
However, there may be times when you, as a manager or second sign-off, want to share what you've written with the reviewee or someone else involved in the process prior to the review.
For example: The reviewee has not submitted their comments to the manager and the review is at Stage 1. The manager, however, has made some comments and provisional ratings and wants to share them with the reviewee prior to the review to give the reviewee time to read and reflect on those comments before meeting.
As a manager, use the Next Steps tab to see your options at Stage 1:
You can click Share your responses with X to make your comments and ratings visible to the reviewee and any other users who have access to this review report (e.g. moderators and second sign-off).
If you click on Start the review without the reviewee's self-assessment it will fast-forward the review to Stage 2 and the reviewee will no longer be able to input any comments or ratings.
These options will not be available unless you (as the reviewer) have added a comment or a rating to the review form.
You cannot un-share your comments and ratings once you've submitted them.